Blogging101 – Love Your Theme

 

Our assignment was to look into at least 3 new themes, and to be sure to try one we didn’t like. Ahh poo, I thought, I don’t want to try things I don’t like.

Don't WANT to!!

Don’t WANT to!!

But I wanted this story to end happily, so I decided that I would search out the Worst Theme Available – try it – love it – and keep it forever.

However, it turns out that I know myself pretty well. I tried and QUICKLY un-tried what I thought was the clunkiest, ugliest, most kludgy theme out there. (I don’t want to name names in case anyone is using it and gets their feeling hurt.) Phew – it was awful. I felt bad for my previous posts that they had to live there even for just a few minutes.

So, quick wrap-up now, yadda-yadda-yadda, I tried about 15 different themes, and ended up with the one you’re looking at now.

Unless you’re reading this in The Future (!!) and I’ve changed it again.

Picture from http://michellesanderson.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/disappointed-baby.jpg

9 thoughts on “Blogging101 – Love Your Theme

  1. mariewilliams53

    I’m loving the changes to your theme! You said: “By Monday I will have the perfect theme” – good golly miss molly – you weren’t joking!:{)

    On a separate point, blogging101: I can’t think of a way to make my about page irresistable. Not sure the one I have is that attractive, but just don’t have the motivation to change it. How are you getting on with it?

    Like

    Reply
    1. datatater Post author

      Thanks. I knew as soon as I saw it that San Kloud was the one for me! As for my About page…Slow and painful. Its a huge challenge, starting with the fact that it assumes that I myself am irresistable, and I’m not sure that’s true 😄. I’m not able to work on my blog right now (gotta pay the bills), but when I get home I’ll read yours and write a scathing review :):):)

      Like

      Reply
      1. mariewilliams53

        Ha Ha Ha! You’ll have ajob – I haven’t even attempted doing it yet! I’ve been looking to see what other people have done so I can get some inspiration. So far, very impressed with others attempts, but procrastination seems to be the way forward for me at the moment. Good luck later, I’m sure you’ll come with something I can plagiarize (spelling??) 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Like

        Reply
  2. mariewilliams53

    So glad you took my criticism in the right spirit. I am going to check in on you next week to make sure that you’ve changed this awful, boring theme! 🙂 🙂 No offence meant. Feel free to slag off my theme if you like!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. datatater Post author

      No no no…I’m hard to offend – head and heart like stone :). And I actually like Chateau a lot, I had it for about 1/2 an hour, but decided that the italics made it too arty for me. I’m more ‘earthy’. I’ll keep digging.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. mariewilliams53

      I wouldn’t be so rude as to say I don’t like your theme. But I think there are more colourful themes. You sound like a fun person and this theme doesn’t do you justice. It lacks something. My opinion and your theme – so who am I to say I don’t like it? 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

