In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Plead the Fifth.”

“How was your weekend?”

I hate that question. Loathe it. Despise it.

First of all, it’s none of your business. If I’d done something worth yapping about,  that I wanted you to KNOW about,  I would have yapped.

Second – you’re probably just asking so you can yap at ME about what YOU did over the weekend. Don’t waste my time or yours. Just TELL me. I won’t be interested probably, but I’ll smile and nod (to show I’m listening), open my mouth  just a little bit and my eyes  a lot (to express astonishment), and then say one of three things – “Oh wow, that sounds like fun”, or “No WAY! You didn’t! Ohmygod!”, or “Oh, no. <insert tsk noise> Oh, that’s awful, I’m so sorry”

Third – I’m mostly just ashamed that the answer is almost always NOTHING. I did nothing. I did laundry, went to the library, made some soup, cleaned the cat box, watched House of Cards on Netflix, read blogs. One thing I did NOT do was walk for 7 hours in Scotland like my blend* Jonathan.

*I’m kind of upset that BLEND (meaning (to me anyway) a blogger whose blog I like so much that I feel like you’re an  actual friend)  is already a thing. I was hoping I’d invented it.

6 thoughts on “Oh God It’s Monday – PLEASE Don’t Ask…

      1. lilypup

        I remember when I worked…you felt sort of like a loser if you didn’t have anything dynamic to say about your weekend. OR, if you didn’t look superior and say “we had wine and cheese and relaxed and reflected on life”

        Like

        Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

