C is for a Carbon-Neutral DataTater

C

I’m always looking for ways to embetter the planet, and to decorate my blog at the same time. As you can imagine, the Venn diagram of those two has a very narrow overlapping zone. But today I found one. I’m getting a tree planted for me, to offset the Carbon footprint of my blog! And I get a nifty One Blog One Tree badge 🙂

And you too can “Make A  Green  Gesture” by having these lovely people plant a tree for YOUR blog. I won’t go into too much science you can go read it yourself, but basically a Harvard physicist* has postulated that an average website creates an amount of carbon dioxide that can be offset by a tree. So, plant one. Or take the lazy modern way, and have someone do it FOR you, like I’m doing.

This is not the actual tree that will be planted.

*Alexander Wissner-Gross,PhD,

physicist at Harvard University and

environmental activist

 

Written as part of the April 2015 A to Z Challenge.

9 thoughts on “C is for a Carbon-Neutral DataTater

  1. Helen Hollick

    We planted 50 trees year before last in an area of our field. A few didn’t take but most are healthy. I’ve also love flowers in the house but it’s such a shame to pick them sometimes – but we’ve had very high winds these past few days so I’ve picked all the broken daffs! I’m enjoying the A-Z-ing so far – good fun (I’m number 590 on the list)

    Like

    Reply
    1. datatater Post author

      I agree about flowers in the house – I love them, but then they are also beautiful in the garden.
      Your D for Dawn photos are incredibly beautiful – my favorite time of the day.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Kay

    Ooh I really like this! I shall have to do a post about it, perhaps after the challenge! What a great idea 🙂
    I like learning new things, and this definitely counts – I didn’t really think about the carbon footprint of my blog!
    Good luck with your A-Z!

    Like

    Reply
  3. shirleyjdietz

    Not only is that not the actual tree, but of course you know it is not a tree at all, of any kind, not even close (although it is a plant). Lol, I will plant a tree too It’s just a good idea.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Rae

    I had no idea! I never thought about INDIVIDUAL websites having a carbon footprint! But good to know, and I will plant a tree straight away to offset my own corner of the interweb. (Maybe for the letter T of this month challenge!?)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

