G is for Goodreads

G

 

Goodreads is an awesome resource – you can read 1000s of reviews of books, to help you decide whether you’ll like something. According to Forbes, “There are somewhere between 600,000 and 1,000,000 books published every year in the US alone, depending on which stats you believe.” You can’t read all of them. Spending an hour reading a bunch of reviews, both positive and negative (as long as there are no spoilers) can be a worthwhile way to not spend  $20, $30, $50 on a book that you end up hating. After a while, you will know which  reviewers have similar tastes to your own – and at that point they will become not just reviewers of books you already think you want to read, but also sources of books you didn’t know existed.

It can also help you keep track of those  books you know you WANT to read, but just haven’t gotten around to yet. If you’re like me (until recently), you carry a little notebook around filled with titles and authors. Haul it out at the library and the bookstore, scratch them out when you’ve bought/borrowed them. Welcome to the 20th century and Goodreads mobile app.

And speaking of the 20th century, I find it especially helpful now, in the era of ebooks and  audio books. When ALL the books I was reading at one time were ALL piled up on my nightstand, it was easy to not lose track of any (except the ones the cat knocked down behind). But just before I signed on with Goodreads, while adding a new ebook  to my collection, I saw one that I had started reading AGES ago and had completely forgotten about. If I’d had a Goodreads “currently reading” list, I couldn’t have forgotten it.

The only thing I would like to see changed is a way to identify the format  of my books – ebook, audio,  brick-and-mortar book, papyrus scroll.

 

Written as part of the April 2015 A to Z Challenge.

4 thoughts on “G is for Goodreads

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

