M is for Meditation

M

First of all, let me say that I am NOT a very introspective person. While I DO spend a lot of time inside my own head, I’m generally looking OUTWARD while I’m there (mostly judging), not inward. So when   A fellow blogger introduced me to a free 21-day Meditation series hosted by Oprah Winfrey and Deepak Chopra, I was skeptical, but decided to try it – and to keep an open mind, even though it all sounded a bit tree-huggy to me.

At first it was a little difficult – I had to find time in my busy schedule of Netflixing and playing Gummy Drop!; I had to convince Mr Tater that I wasn’t sleeping sitting up and that no, he shouldn’t ‘wake’ me; I had to get Nedcat to stop helping by kneading my 3rd Chakra like it was bread dough; but eventually everyone settled into the routine and by the 3rd or 4th day I was really liking it. It actually made me feel very relaxed afterwards, if  a bit fuzzy-headed coming back up out of it. And it started me thinking in ways I hadn’t since I was a goofy impressionable teenager, being introduced to Baba Ram Dass’ Be Here Now  (Whether that is a plus or a minus, is an exercise left to the reader to determine.)

I’m not going to describe the whole thing here; just to say that it was AWESOME. I’m not ready to start wearing saffron robes or anything, but I have to say, I feel changed by the experience.

Don’t worry, I’m still the same snarky DataTater you’ve come to know and… well, to know. But there might, just might, be some truth to the rumor that you’re never too old to learn something new.

On a side note – that Oprah. What a voice she has! So deep and rich and round and full. Like a fine cigar! I’m sure the rest of the world was already well aware of that; but I realized that I’d never actually heard  her speak before.

I don’t want to blather on too long here, just to say that while I’m still not sure I’m doing it right, I do think I’m getting there.

And Namaste.

 

Written as part of the April 2015 A to Z Challenge.

4 thoughts on “M is for Meditation

  1. aranislandgirl

    When I saw this in my Reader, saw the word ‘Meditation’ I had the thought, ‘is she talking to me or what?’ Now I see that we are telepathic….funny how powerful that meditation is 😉 ! I didn’t do the entire 21 days myself. I felt the urge to go off on my own. So I followed it. I too had the fuzzy headed, but serene feelings following. It helps me sleep at night sooner also. So many benefits. Really happy it stuck for you. I have not kept the routine, but flowing along with a few days a week and it helps. And that Oprah, she should make audio bedtime stories. Her voice is so soothing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Tracy Moore

    Nice post. I’m a fan of meditation myself, but have fallen out of a regular practice. Thanks for making me think about it 🙂

    Also thank you for dropping by to visit my blog!

    Like

    Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

