Cigars? Cigarettes? Tiparillos?

NaBloPoMo prompt for the day:

What did you think was the coolest job in the world when you were younger? Do you still feel that way now?

When I was very tiny, though I don’t remember this myself, I used to walk around the house asking “Thigarth? Thigaretteth? Tiparilloth?”  Apparently I got it from watching this, and I guess I thought it was the absolute HEIGHT of elegance. That girl was who I wanted to be when I grew up.

“The modern smoke found in all the right places with all the right people.”

Now I’m a cranky old sit-on-my-ass-all-day IT professional who does not go to the right places, or mix with the right people; I don’t own even one slinky dress, suitable for a nightclub. But I don’t lisp anymore, so I’ve got THAT going for me.

My awesome child self would be very disappointed in me, I’m afraid.

The best parts of the video: the double-thumbs-up dancing couple and what may very possibly be one of the earliest filmed versions of the proto-supermodel hair flip! Rough around the edges, and broken into two separate movements, but it’s there alright – ready to make its way into every young girl’s repertoire of flirty moves.

Do I still think that would be a cool job? Let’s see – walking around in a girdle and high heels all night, in a smoky dark room getting grab-assed by a bunch of stinky drunks, and living on tips? You betcha! Coolest. Job. Ever.

3 thoughts on “Cigars? Cigarettes? Tiparillos?

  1. Pingback: As If You Didn’t Already Know… | DataTater

  2. Pingback: Situational Earworm | DataTater

  3. hirundine608

    Well, there you have it … Madison Avenue induced mass hysteria. The right places the right people … sounds like an advert for a secret cabal? Made me laugh! Thanks, Cheers Jamie.

    Like

    Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

