Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy

In response to the Daily Prompt’s Sorry I’m Busy.

It was back in the days of dial-up… remember that? Tha intraweps come from the telephone, so if you’re on the computer, you can’t use the phone.

It was also back in the days of Napster… remember THAT? You could steal music from both rich and poor musicians. For free. It was awesome.

And it was back in the days when only fancy assholes had “cellular” phones.

So one day I was stealing a Little Feat song when there was a knock at the door. “I’m locked out of my apartment, can I use your phone to call my mom?” I was almost finished with the song – it had been over 30 minutes already, I didn’t want to stop and have to start over. AND it’s not like she was a little kid, she was a teenager. AND it wasn’t freezing or raining or anything. AND it was late afternoon, plenty of people were home who WEREN’T stealing music on their computers. “I’m sorry, the phone is tied up on the computer and I can’t stop it right now.”

Looking back, I do feel bad about it. I should  have just pulled the plug and let her call. I know that NOW. I’m sorry little girl, if you’re out there reading this. (well, I’m sorry even if you’re NOT reading this, but you know what I mean). I hope you got in touch with your mom.

I do NOT feel sorry for stealing music.

napster

 

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Sorry I’m Busy

  1. hirundine608

    Not so sure about that … everyone has to learn to stand on their own two feet. …Feat?

    Relying on someone else’s technology, is like seeing someone standing at the side of the road with their thumbs out. So, she was locked out for a while. Not like she was on the street? You have the choice … beside Little Feat were a good band.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Go ahead, say it. Don't be shy...

